Announcements

Thread Rating:
  • 6 Vote(s) - 3.67 Average
240sx value vs. actual pricing
I have been looking for a 240sx to buy as a garage project car. The civic is a daily and i can not afford to rip her apart and what not but really would like to learn more about how cars work in general. I have bits of knowledge but there is nothing like the actual experience of removing an engine or other projects that can't be achieved in a few hours or less.

I started playing with the idea of getting an old 240 to play with. I wanted an s13 either hatch or coupe as long as it was a 5 speed and that was basically all I was looking for. I did not care what mods it had necessarily but was really only interested in a cheap one. It could need body work, paint, engine work, missing interior, whatever. I know these get beat up and really that is what I wanted.

Once I had that all in mind I started searching craigslist and that is where my problems started. THEY ARE WAY OVERPRICED. I know the supply and demand for these is sort of high but really when people ask 5-6 grand for a 20+ year old car that needs work it is kind of crazy. Most are between 3.5k - 5k but that is still kind of crazy to me. It sucks and is ridiculous to me. I live in the bay area and I think we have higher prices here than most areas but still.

Just kind of wanted to throw this out there and see what everyone else has to say on this or maybe the issue of cars even like ours that can be so high priced for what they're worth (not saying our cars aren't worth a lot but I am sure everyone has seen the posts where someone thinks their beater is worth 5k because it has some rotas with bald tires, a shift knob, and cheap stereo.)

-Kellen

It's the drift tax, y0!