Announcements

Thread Rating:
  • 10 Vote(s) - 3.5 Average
Stock D16y8 for autox
I was wondering if there are any of you that do autox with a stock or close to stock D16y8, since I'm a noob in the car department on the autox I want to start with my 98 ex just so I can get more experience.
[Image: Untitled-1.gif]
You will be fine...the y8 has more than enough power to throw the car around turns.

(04-27-2011, 10:20 AM)djblingbling1 Wrote:  You will be fine...the y8 has more than enough power to throw the car around turns.

Rofl Haha

Yeah, i haven't auto-x'd my EJ8 yet, but i have thought about it Naughty

I've seen quite a few hit the local course, and they do alright, but your probably going to want to worry about suspension more than the stock y8, if you have a stock ride height, stock sway bar car, your going to be body rolling the course more than anything, and pretty much getting average times...

Good luck though! i Heart Auto-xing! |> ^
[Image: Signatureindy.jpg]
Hostility - 01-13-2011-07:17 -- Terry, You're so cool you need your own emoticon
You'll be fine. Even stock suspension. Upgrading the suspension would be wise tho.
There are others on the site that know more about auto x than me of course
insert cool sig pic here
SquadMember#715 CGPV2.0Member#1 Rice --> Nice[ish] Build Thread
I'd say, hit the course, get a feel for the car the 1st time, without suspension mods, chances are there will be another 96-00 civic there (there's always a red EJ6 coupe at mine) and if so, ask the driver what he/she's done to the car. Also ask the head honchos of the course what they think you should do suspension wise, there are alot of wise members on here, and so far in the crx world the koni yellows and ground control coilovers are the best combo.

Of course to address your orig. question, i'd say a few bolt ons and you'd be bumping up a class, but you might want to hit up the course in stock trim first.